This edition of the Grow Write Guild is about planning a dream garden.... This is easy, I've been doing it for years. 

I suppose I’m kind of a practical dreamer when it comes to my garden; to sum it up, I want a garden that almost totally feeds me. Like 90% (gotta leave room for the goat cheese and occasional take out pizza).

I want to look out my kitchen window and see waves and layers of all shades of Green. Tomatoes on the vines, squash hiding under all their leaves, ready to be discovered, beans climbing up a teepee. Chickens pecking around the garden happily, fertilizing and eating all the pests. I dream of a small orchard of fruit trees, heavy with fruit. An abundance of grapefruit in the winter to make mint-grapefruit mojitos with, figs, peaches, and of course the radiant pomegranate tree we already have.  Spring is ushered in when her first vibrant red blossoms appear.

The front yard would be an herb garden. We would have fenced in the front yard so it would feel like a little country oasis. I would grow every type of herb I could order out of the seed catalogues. Even the ones that require a few years growing time for the roots. I would walk out front in the mornings, when it is still crisp and cool, and harvest herbs for the day in a basket. Smelling the lavender and mint as I brush past them.

There would be many rain barrels and (most) of the water we need would come from the monsoons and be stored for the rest of the year. There would be a large 3 compartment compost bin, separated neatly by found and recycled pallets.  Worms in the garden, bees in the air.

And all of this would happen in the desert. :) It is possible, but very, very difficult. That’s why it’s still just a dream. 


4/11/2013 07:28:11 am

What a lovely dream garden. Good luck!

Reply
4/13/2013 06:45:27 pm

I live in South Australia, driest state on the driest continent and DREAM of a similar garden :) Loving the GWG series!

Reply
4/17/2013 12:42:20 pm

I love that you want to be totally self-sustaining. That would be fantastic. I have been getting more into herbs lately, and started making my own tea with the herbs from my garden. It's tedious work, but totally worth it.

Here's my dream garden... <a href="http://www.getbusygardening.com/2013/04/my-dream-garden.html">My Dream Garden</a>

Amy

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    About Me

    My name is Melisa (but I go by Wren) and I might be a little crazy. I decided to quit my solid, respectable day job because I missed sunshine. And because I have had this nagging desire to control my own destiny for as long as I can remember. I took a leap of faith into a new life, starting from scratch.

    This blog is documentation of our experiments and adventures in creating a more sustainable, self-reliant urban homestead and crafting a happier, more meaningful life and career.  

    I dont know what this journey holds, but I hope that the winding path ahead includes yoga, bright colors, herb gardens and goats. 

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All
    Beginnings
    Business
    Garden
    Grow Write Guild
    Musings
    Work In Progress